Skip to content

Lok Sabha Election 2024

lok sabha ai image

Lok Sabha Election - Total Parliamentary constituencies= 543

State Assembly Election- 4 states= Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim

Current Lok Sabha -17th (will expire on 16th June 2024)

Total electorate w.r.t 01.01.2024 =968.8 million
Total electorate w.r.t 01.01.2019= 896 million

Lok Sabha election is conducted by ECI (Election Commission Of India)

Article for ECI-324 (duties and function), 83(2) (conduct of election)

RPI, 1951- section 14 (conduct of election)

State assembly election is also conducted by ECI, under article 324, 172 (1), and RPI, 1951-section-15.

1-Shri Gyanesh Kumar                                                                 2-Dr Sukhbir Singh Sandhu

Election will be conducted in 7 phase

Phase 1 – 19 Apr 2024

Phase 2 – 26 Apr 2024

Phase 3 – 07 May 2024

Phase 4 – 13 May 2024

Phase 5 – 20 May 2024

Phase 6 – 25 May 2024

Phase 7 – 01 June 2024

Election Result Date

04 June 2024

Voting Method


None of the Above (NOTA) in EVMs, VVPATs and Postal Ballot

Asusual, there will be ‘None of the Above’ option for the electors. On the BUs, below the name of the last candidate, there will be a button for NOTA option so that voters who do not want to vote for any of the candidates can exercise their option by pressing the button against NOTA. Similarly, on Postal Ballot Papers there will be a NOTA Panel after the name of the last candidate. The symbol for NOTA as given below will be printed against the NOTA Panel.


Suvidha Portal: This portal provides different facility to candidates/ political parties for online nomination, Permission as given below

a) Candidate Online Nomination: To facilitate filling of nominations, the Election Commission has introduced an online portal for filling the nomination & affidavit. The Candidate can visit to create his/her account, fill nomination form, deposit the security amount, check availability of time slot and appropriately plan his visit to the Returning Officer. Once the application is filled through the online portal, the candidate only needs to take a printout, get it notarized and submit the application along with relevant documents to the Returning Officer in person. The Online Nomination Facility is an optional facility to facilitate ease of filing and correct filing. The regular offline submission as prescribed under the law shall continue too.

b) Candidate Permissions module: The permission module allows the candidates, political parties or any representatives of the candidate to apply online for the permission for meetings, rallies, loudspeakers, temporary offices, and others through SUVIDHA Portal The Candidates can also track their application status through the same portal.

c) Candidate App: Suvidha: In view of COVID-19, the Commission has directed that allocation of public spaces for meetings and rallies must be done using the Suvidha app as far as practicable. The application will be available during elections for Candidates / Political Parties / Agents to download and use to track the nomination and permission status from the Google Play store.

iii) Candidate Affidavit Portal: Candidate Affidavit portal is a web portal that allows citizens to view the complete list of Candidate Nominations who have applied for the elections. The citizen, political parties and media houses to know about the candidates, accesses this portal. A complete candidate profile with photo and affidavit is made public as and when the Returning Officer enters the data. The Complete list of Contesting Candidates with their profile, nomination status and the affidavits will be available for public view through Candidate Affidavit Portal. This portal can be accessed using .

iv) Know Your Candidates (KYC): The Election Commission of India hasdeveloped a dedicated app for Know your Candidate (KYC) for both Android and iOS platforms for informing about “Criminal Antecedents” status of candidates. This allows citizens to browse candidates with/ without Criminal Antecedents and empowers the citizens to know the criminal antecedents of the candidates. The application is available on the Google Play store and Apple App Store.

Media restrictions during silence period and on Exit polls:

->Section 126 (1)(b) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951,prohibits displaying any election matter by means, inter alia, of television or similar apparatus, in any polling area during the period offorty-eight hours (silence period) ending with the hour fixed for the conclusion of the poll for any election in that polling area. Election matter referred herein above is defined as any matter intended or calculated to influence or affect the result of an election in any electronic media during the period of 48 hours ending with the hour fixed for conclusion of poll in each of the phases of elections.

->Section 126A of the R.P. Act 1951, prohibits conduct of Exit poll anddissemination of their results by means of print or electronic media during the period mentioned therein, i.e. between the hour fixed for commencement of poll in the first phase and half an hour after the time fixed for close of poll for the last phase in all the States. Violation of section 126 of the R.P. Act, 1951 is punishable with imprisonment upto a period of two years, or with fine or both.

->All Media houses are advised to follow instructions in this regard keeping its spirit. Media may also refer to the ‘Guidelines issued by Press Council of India’ dated 30.07.2010, ‘Norms of Journalistic Conduct- 2022’ and “Guidelines for Election Broadcasts” issued by News Broadcasters & Digital Association dated 3rd March, 2014